Sunday, March 29, 2009

Fannie Lynch Deposition

The following is a transcription of a deposition given by Fannie Lynch for Mary Whelan, the widow of Patrick Whelan.

Deposition F
Case of Mary J. Whalin, No. 773265

On this 16th day of May, 1903, at Chicago, county of Cook, State of Ill, before me, J. H. Stibbs, a special examiner of the Bureau of Pensions, personally appeared Fannie Lynch, who, being by me first duly sworn to answer truly all interrogatories propounded to her during this special examination of aforesaid claim for pension, deposes and says: I am 45 years of age & reside with my Father Peter Lynch, at 540 Burling St. Chicago Ill.

I have known this claimant since 1867. I was a young girl then, but remember well of her coming to Chicago & coming to live with us, and I remember well of her wedding. I went to the Church & saw her married, and from what I have learned of her & her husband in later years, I feel sure that neither of them had been previously married.

They lived together as man & wife until he died. Never were divorced or legally separated & she has not remarried since his death. I was at her house just after his death & I know they were living together at the time of his death.

I remember my uncle Patrick Whalin, at the time he came from the war. He lived with us. We lived in his house, which he bought before he went to the war. I am sure he was not married before he married claimant.

The affidavit shown me B J [?] was signed by me & the statements werein made are substantively correct.

Claimant has been very poor since her husband died, has no property or income & supports herself working as a scrub woman.

I am not interested in her claim. Above has been read to me & is correct.
Fannie E. Lynch
Sworn to and subscribed before me this 16th day of May 1903, and I certify that the contents were fully made known to deponent before signing.
J. H. Stibbs
Special Examiner.